The Joy of Letting Go — The Gift I Give MySelf

I cannot convey the depth of joy I am feeling in getting rid of things — The best feeling has been in giving away church music from my 6 years as a church choir director. When I left in August, I remember feeling that I would be damned if I would leave anything of my own but that I had collected for the job I had there to ‘them’. ‘They’ didn’t deserve it! I didn’t owe them anything!

Wonderful how self-righteous we can feel about what we do. What I didn’t realize was that in being self-righteous and essentially thumbing my nose at ‘them’ I was holding myself back and cluttering up my life. And I know now that I may have left the job but I was not free of it. Have you ever held conversations in your head where you go back and think of what you would have said [all of which is designed to make us feel like we are ‘winning’]? That’s what I was doing.

As I said to sister, I really know that I need to be at Engaging and Awakening Others™ again. As I clear my life of stuff, I know that my first pass in this programme where I dealt with, confronted and let go of so much, was not the only pass. After my last Body, Spirit, Integration™ session with my sister, I drove back to Peterborough and listened to CD 9 of Decloaking and Living Authentically™. And then I had a conversation with my father and with my other sister and her husband. And I spoke my truth.  And in doing that, I got clear of more stuff.

I’ve lived for 62 years so far and, as I come to own mySelf in all ways, I feel like I’m getting younger. Life is so much more joyous and open. I continue to experience the more that I AM. The acceleration I feel of my transformation and evolution into the woman I truly AM is awesome.

[If you are interested in investigating Body,Spirit,Integration™ sessions, I invite you visit Sheila Winter Wallace at www.sheilawinterwallace.com for more informations].

About Authentic Vibrations

My life is about learning and personal growth. I was an educator in the public secondary system for over 33 years. I now work with women, individually and in small groups, using words and music, art and language to help them explore their individaul sense of self in ways with are authentically meaningful for each of them. I also facilitate discussions with educators at all stages of their involvement in the teaching profession to help each of us explore the meaning, value and potential of learning and teaching. It is my belief that, in working individually and in collective, we have the power to transform and evolve. In the power of the collectives which we create together is the power to create culture. As a musician, I believe that the arts have the power to change lives. Certification: CODE Model™ Coach WEL-Systems® Institute Affiliate Education: Ed. D (c) (Applied Psychology – Focus on Teaching) University of Toronto M. Ed (Curriculum Development and Design) Queen’s University (1992) B. Ed (Music, English, Elementary Education) University of Toronto (1976) Mus. Bac. (Music Education) University of Toronto (1975) RCM Grade 4 Harmony, Grade 4 History, Grade 9 Voice, Grade 10 Piano Awards: Life Membership, Ontario Secondary School Teacher’s Federation (2009)
This entry was posted in Personal Growth and Self-discovery and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

