On Being New to Teaching

This is the time year when schools and boards complete the staffing process – the prediction of how many teachers will be needed for the next school year.  It’s also the time when teachers who are low on the seniority list wait to see if they will have a job next year.  I remember going through that every year for the first five years that I was in the classroom.  Getting a letter at the end of April thanking me for my work for the board and also letting me know that, at that time, I wouldn’t have a job the following year.  And then getting a letter at the end of May congratulating me for being able to work for the board for another year.

I remember the stress I felt living in that uncertainty.  I remember the stress in the school as those who had been newly hired waited and wondered.

At one time, what you taught had an impact on whether you were rehired for the following year.  Now, except for tech and science where there are specific safety issues to be considered, that is no longer the case.  It’s all a numbers game.

What has always struck me is that the lives of students would be diminished because they would lose the possibility of having bright and energetic and creative younger teachers.  I also know that working with these teachers who were caught in the numbers game that is staffing energized me.  Their capacity and potential increased my own.

It’s also the time of year when the next group of teachers graduate from their teacher training programmes.  They enter the profession with hope and full of possibility.  The Lamp of Learning should be their symbol.  And then they confront the whole hiring process.  Will there be positions open in their areas of expertise?  Will they be called in for an interview?  Will they be called back for another and perhaps more intensive interview?  Will they get the gig?

And if they are hired, will they have the opportunity to be in the classroom for more than one year?  After the hiring process comes the staffing process.

There are a lot of new teachers entering the profession each year.  And there are a lot of teachers who have not had the chance to demonstrate on their resumés that they have had one longer term position.  They all apply for available jobs and all get caught in a ‘catch 22’.  Principals want to hire teachers with experience but how can newer teachers get that experience when they aren’t hired?  As a friend of mine said, “How can you get experience when no one will hire you and to get experience then means that you have to volunteer which means no income and being dependent on others?”

There are statistics that show that the greatest time of attrition – of teachers choosing to leave the profession – is within the first five years.  I can understand that.  It’s hard to believe that teaching is where you are called to be and to maintain both hope and the ability to keep your eyes on the prize when you can’t get hired.

I’m thankful for all teachers who, I know, have the potential to help their students to transform the world; teachers who are the invitation to their students at achieve their potential.  I know that it is the next generation that will be the change in the world.  I know that these students will be profoundly affected by those who teach them to ask questions and explore the immensity possible in the journey of exploration.

Systems become entrenched in the belief that there is only one way to organize and structure things.  In education, that means that we continue to use a 19th century structure to serve the needs of a 21st century world.

What I know is that transformation in education is too important to wait for someone else to effect the change.  And I believe that our world is lessened when the force which is those new to the profession has no possibility of its full expression.  Isn’t it time to consider something different?  It may seem chaotic but in chaos is the energy of transformation and creation.  After all, necessity is the mother of invention!

 

 

 

 

About Authentic Vibrations

My life is about learning and personal growth. I was an educator in the public secondary system for over 33 years. I now work with women, individually and in small groups, using words and music, art and language to help them explore their individaul sense of self in ways with are authentically meaningful for each of them. I also facilitate discussions with educators at all stages of their involvement in the teaching profession to help each of us explore the meaning, value and potential of learning and teaching. It is my belief that, in working individually and in collective, we have the power to transform and evolve. In the power of the collectives which we create together is the power to create culture. As a musician, I believe that the arts have the power to change lives. Certification: CODE Model™ Coach WEL-Systems® Institute Affiliate Education: Ed. D (c) (Applied Psychology – Focus on Teaching) University of Toronto M. Ed (Curriculum Development and Design) Queen’s University (1992) B. Ed (Music, English, Elementary Education) University of Toronto (1976) Mus. Bac. (Music Education) University of Toronto (1975) RCM Grade 4 Harmony, Grade 4 History, Grade 9 Voice, Grade 10 Piano Awards: Life Membership, Ontario Secondary School Teacher’s Federation (2009)
This entry was posted in Education Issues and Comments, Resources, Teaching and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

79 Responses to On Being New to Teaching

  1. Hello to every one, it’s truly a pleasant for me to pay a visit this web site, it includes helpful Information.

  2. Pretty! This has been a really wonderful post. Thanks for supplying this info.

  3. Nydia says:

    Hello there! This post could not be written any better! Going through this article reminds me of my previous roommate!

    He constantly kept preaching about this. I’ll send this information to him. Fairly certain he will have a good read. Many thanks for sharing!

  4. Good write-up. I definitely love this website.

    Keep it up!

  5. Good day very cool blog!! Guy .. Excellent .. Wonderful .
    . I’ll bookmark your website and take the feeds also? I’m satisfied to search out a
    lot of useful info right here in the put up, we want work out more
    techniques on this regard, thank you for sharing.

    . . . . .

  6. I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was great.
    I don’t know who you are but definitely you’re going
    to a famous blogger if you are not already 😉 Cheers!

  7. Oliver says:

    This site was… how do you say it? Relevant!

    ! Finally I’ve found something which helped me. Kudos!

  8. Tanja says:

    Great article, exactly what I wanted to find.

  9. Mira says:

    Greetings from Colorado! I’m bored at work so I decided to check out your blog on my iphone during lunch break. I really like the knowledge you provide here and can’t wait to take a look when
    I get home. I’m shocked at how fast your blog loaded on my mobile .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .
    . Anyways, good blog!

  10. Frieda says:

    Its not my first time to go to see this web site,
    i am browsing this web page dailly and take
    pleasant data from here everyday.

  11. If some one wants expert view on the topic of
    running a blog after that i recommend him/her to pay a quick visit this webpage,
    Keep up the good work.

  12. You made some decent points there. I looked on the net for additional information about the issue and found most people will
    go along with your views on this site.

  13. Hello I am so thrilled I found your webpage,
    I really found you by mistake, while I was looking on Askjeeve for something else, Nonetheless I am here now and would just like
    to say thanks for a remarkable post and a all round thrilling blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to look
    over it all at the moment but I have saved it and also added in
    your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a lot more,
    Please do keep up the superb b.

  14. Elmo says:

    whoah this blog is fantastic i really like studying your articles.
    Stay up the great work! You already know, lots of
    people are searching around for this information, you can
    help them greatly.

  15. Ohms Law says:

    I could not refrain from commenting. Exceptionally well written!

  16. Margot says:

    I’ve been browsing online more than three hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It is pretty worth enough for me. In my opinion, if all website owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the internet will be a lot more useful than ever before.

  17. Austin says:

    This post is worth everyone’s attention. How can I find out more?

  18. Margret says:

    Excellent site. A lot of useful info here.

    I am sending it to several pals ans also sharing in delicious.

    And of course, thank you to your sweat!

  19. Hotld.com says:

    Thank you for sharing your info. I really appreciate your efforts and I am waiting for your further write ups thanks
    once again.

  20. I just want to mention I am just newbie to blogs and truly enjoyed your website. Most likely I’m likely to bookmark your blog post . You absolutely come with very good well written articles. Kudos for revealing your web-site.

  21. Antoine says:

    This page definitely has all of the info I needed about this subject and didn’t know who to ask.

  22. Howdy! I could have sworn I’ѵe been to this site befοre but after browsing through many of the articles
    I realized it’s neω to me. Anyways, I’m definitely delighteԁ I stumbled upon it and I’ll
    be bookmarking it and checking back often!

  23. Hello! Would you mind if I share your blog with my
    facebook group? There’s a lot of folks that I
    think would really enjoy your content. Please let me know.
    Many thanks

  24. whoah this blog is fantastic i like reading your posts.
    Keep up the great work! You realize, many people are looking round for this information, you could help them greatly.

  25. Rickey says:

    Admіrong the commіtment you put into yopur website
    and in ddepth information you offer. It’s nice to come across a blo every once in a while that isn’t the same unwanted rehashed information. Wonderfսl read!
    I’ve saved your site and Ι’m addkng your RSS
    fereds tο myy Google account.

  26. sales people says:

    Hello to all, for the reason that I am truly keen of reading this
    website’s post to be updated on a regular basis.
    It contains good material.

  27. love it says:

    Greetings! Very useful advice within this article! It is the little changes which will make the largest
    changes. Many thanks for sharing!

  28. QW says:

    Spot on with this write-up, I actually think this website needs far
    more attention. I’ll probably be back again to read more, thanks
    for the information!

Leave a Reply

