We’re All in Sales

A few years ago, one of my sisters said that we were all in sales. At the time, I was still teaching in the public secondary school system in Ontario.  When I thought of myself, as an educator, being in sales, I was taken aback.  Teachers selling something?  The very thought seemed to be disrespectful.

And as I let the idea rumble inside, I came to know that, yes, I was in sales as an educator. So what was I selling?  My agenda for the daily class over my students’;  that the class required some basic rules of operation so that the work could be completed;  that the curricular expectations for the course were attainable; that my students could really do the assignments I created for them to demonstrate their learning; that my students had a right to question things and me if they had any problems with the work required; that the diploma requirements made sense in their entirety; that there was no rush to complete everything required in four years and not five; that the process of learning was more important than the products generated by each student.

A few weeks ago, I was conferencing with a student who was completing Grade 12 University English as a full credit in Summer School. He was required to write an essay on Death of a Salesman by Arthur Miller.  And I was reminded of the fact that we are all in sales.  When I mentioned this to the student, he didn’t see the possibility of it.  And then I asked him to think about the following:  every time a child asks for an increase in their allowance, they have to make a case for the increase to their parents; every time someone asks another person out on a date, they have to sell themselves and answer the question. “Why you should go out with me?”; every time anyone applies to move into an apartment, they must sell that they will be a good tenant who will not damage the property and who will pay their rent on time; every time anyone applies for a loan, they have to sell that they are a good risk; every time one person proposes marriage to another, they have to sell the idea that the life of two people together will enrich the lives of both individuals; every time anyone applies for a job, they are selling that they are the best applicant for the position.  And on it goes.

We are all in sales. And, if this is the case, am I selling my true self, the truth of who I innately am? What about you?

About Authentic Vibrations

My life is about learning and personal growth. I was an educator in the public secondary system for over 33 years. I now work with women, individually and in small groups, using words and music, art and language to help them explore their individaul sense of self in ways with are authentically meaningful for each of them. I also facilitate discussions with educators at all stages of their involvement in the teaching profession to help each of us explore the meaning, value and potential of learning and teaching. It is my belief that, in working individually and in collective, we have the power to transform and evolve. In the power of the collectives which we create together is the power to create culture. As a musician, I believe that the arts have the power to change lives. Certification: CODE Model™ Coach WEL-Systems® Institute Affiliate Education: Ed. D (c) (Applied Psychology – Focus on Teaching) University of Toronto M. Ed (Curriculum Development and Design) Queen’s University (1992) B. Ed (Music, English, Elementary Education) University of Toronto (1976) Mus. Bac. (Music Education) University of Toronto (1975) RCM Grade 4 Harmony, Grade 4 History, Grade 9 Voice, Grade 10 Piano Awards: Life Membership, Ontario Secondary School Teacher’s Federation (2009)
This entry was posted in choices, Personal Growth and Self-discovery, Teaching and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to We’re All in Sales

  1. Pingback: We’re All in Sales – Engage WEL-Systems

  2. Ed Hanrahan says:

    Thanks for that Jean. I’m choosing to be enough lately and trusting that that will be attractive enough for others as well 🙂
    Ed

    Sent from Samsung Mobile

Leave a Reply

